Glass-Steagall Support in Essex County, NJ
January 11, 2012 • 1:57PM

The Essex County, NJ, Board of Freeholders passed a resolution on December 14, 2011, in support of H.R. 1489 to restore Glass-Steagall. With Newark as the County seat, Essex County is the third-largest county in NJ, with nearly 800,000 residents, just below Middlesex County, which had passed a similar resolution. Thus, two county and four municipal governing bodies representing two million Jerseyans have called for Congressional re-establishment of Glass-Steagall (as has the NJ AFL-CIO).

Essex County includes the districts of Rep. Donald Payne, Rep. Albio Sires, Rep. Rodney Frelinghuysen, and Rep. Bill Pascrell. Payne signed onto 1489 in the course of the months-long campaign to get the Freeholders' resolution. Payne's son is both a Freeholder and President of the Newark City Council, which Council was addressed at least twice by LPAC candidate Diane Sare.

LPAC representatives addressed the Essex Freeholders on at least four occasions.