Rep. Gene Green (D-TX) Joins the Call for Glass-Steagall
June 1, 2012 • 12:55PM

Rep. Gene Green (D-TX) is now officially the 63rd co-sponsor of Rep. Marcy Kaptur's (D-MI) H.R. 1489 "Return to Prudent Banking Act of 2011" . The purpose of this act is:

"To repeal certain provisions of the Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act and revive the separation between commercial banking and the securities business, in the manner provided in the Banking Act of 1933, the so-called `Glass-Steagall Act', and for other purposes."

The current co-sponsors are:

Rep Alexander, Rodney [LA-5]
Rep Baldwin, Tammy [WI-2]
Rep Bartlett, Roscoe G. [MD-6]
Rep Bass, Karen [CA-33]
Rep Capuano, Michael E. [MA-8]
Rep Christensen, Donna M. [VI]
Rep Cicilline, David N. [RI-1]
Rep Clarke, Hansen [MI-13]
Rep Clarke, Yvette D. [NY-11]
Rep Clay, Wm. Lacy [MO-1]
Rep Coffman, Mike [CO-6]
Rep Conyers, John, Jr. [MI-14]
Rep Davis, Danny K. [IL-7]
Rep Davis, Susan A. [CA-53]
Rep DeFazio, Peter A. [OR-4]
Rep DeLauro, Rosa L. [CT-3]
Rep Doyle, Michael F. [PA-14]
Rep Ellison, Keith [MN-5]
Rep Filner, Bob [CA-51]
Rep Fudge, Marcia L. [OH-11]
Rep Garamendi, John [CA-10]
Rep Green, Al [TX-9]
Rep Green, Gene [TX-29]
Rep Grijalva, Raul M. [AZ-7]
Rep Jackson Lee, Sheila [TX-18]
Rep Jackson, Jesse L., Jr. [IL-2]
Rep Johnson, Eddie Bernice [TX-30]
Rep Johnson, Henry C. "Hank," Jr. [GA-4]
Rep Jones, Walter B., Jr. [NC-3]
Rep Kildee, Dale E. [MI-5]
Rep Kissell, Larry [NC-8]
Rep Kucinich, Dennis J. [OH-10]
Rep Lee, Barbara [CA-9]
Rep Lewis, John [GA-5]
Rep Lipinski, Daniel [IL-3]
Rep Lofgren, Zoe [CA-16]
Rep Markey, Edward J. [MA-7]
Rep McDermott, Jim [WA-7]
Rep Michaud, Michael H. [ME-2]
Rep Miller, George [CA-7]
Rep Moran, James P. [VA-8]
Rep Olver, John W. [MA-1]
Rep Pallone, Frank, Jr. [NJ-6]
Rep Payne, Donald M. [NJ-10]
Rep Peterson, Collin C. [MN-7]
Rep Pingree, Chellie [ME-1]
Rep Rangel, Charles B. [NY-15]
Rep Ryan, Tim [OH-17]
Rep Sanchez, Loretta [CA-47]
Rep Schakowsky, Janice D. [IL-9]
Rep Schrader, Kurt [OR-5]
Rep Slaughter, Louise McIntosh [NY-28]
Rep Stark, Fortney Pete [CA-13]
Rep Sutton, Betty [OH-13]
Rep Thompson, Bennie G. [MS-2]
Rep Tierney, John F. [MA-6]
Rep Towns, Edolphus [NY-10]
Rep Visclosky, Peter J. [IN-1]
Rep Waters, Maxine [CA-35]
Rep Welch, Peter [VT]
Rep Wilson, Frederica [FL-17]
Rep Woolsey, Lynn C. [CA-6]
Rep Yarmuth, John A. [KY-3]

Is your representative on this list? If not, you better get to work and organize them to sign on.

* Please follow the Commenting Guidlines.