Glass-Steagall Resolution Introduced into Alabama Legislature; Already in WA & VA State Senate
January 24, 2014 • 10:42AM

Alabama State Rep. Tom Jackson (D-68th District) introduced a resolution into the Alabama House of Representatives on Wednesday, H.R. 75, urging the U.S. Congress to pass Glass-Steagall. The Jackson Resolution is the first to name and urge support for all four Glass-Steagall bills now introduced into the U.S. Congress: H.R. 129, the Return to Prudent Banking Act, introduced by Reps. Marcy Kaptur (D-OH) and Walter Jones (R-NC); its companion bill in the Senate, S. 985, The Return to Prudent Banking Act introduced by Sen. Tom Harkin (D-IA); The 21st Century Glass-Steagall Act, S. 1282, introduced by Sens. Elizabeth Warren (D-MA) and John McCain (R-AZ); and its companion bill in the House, introduced by Reps. John Tierney (D-MA) and Walter Jones (R-NC), H.R. 3711.

Alabama is the third state where a Glass-Steagall Memorial Resolution has been introduced in 2014; the other two are Virginia (State Senate), SJR 22, introduced by Sen. Richard Black (R), and Washington State Senate, SJ Memorial Resolution 8012, resubmitted by Sens. Bob Hasegawa (D) and Maralyn Chase (D), with a total of 17 co-sponsors — 13 more than in 2013.

See LaRouchePAC's Glass-Steagall page for latest updates.